Conscious Living

Selfishness or Integrity?

Posted on: December 6, 2011

I was planning on attending that meeting tonight.  I imagined myself sitting with this particular group and wondered to myself, what do I want to contribute at this meeting or what do I want to contribute to the event they are planning?  I thought about the volunteer opportunities involved.  I had whole body “no’s” to taking a leadership role this time.  I had a full body “yes” to agreeing to show up for the event and help out the whole day.  The thing is, I know I have great leadership skills.  I’ve been there, done that, and I really like to lead.  I also want to be fully engaged and use my leadership skills doing something I feel passionate about.  So, there are times I say no.  I have a few moments, well, maybe a few more, where I consider the “I should because” way of thinking.  But I am so clear that when I say yes because I think I should instead of saying yes from that organic absolute “yes I want to” place, I create stress for myself.  I create stress because I am out of integrity, doing something for an unknown someone’s  reasons instead of honoring my own knowing of what I want.  I have an absolute no to doing that.

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter

  • Working on a new coaching website! I'll keep you posted! 2 months ago
  • Getting Clear on What’s Most Important to You wp.me/ppRBS-4K 2 months ago
  • High achievement without mindfully choosing your path equals unhappiness and dissatisfaction.You don't have to do it that way. Love yourself 2 months ago

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 952 other followers

